It is currently Mon Oct 22, 2018 5:45 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Wassup?
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:57 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 28, 2016
Posts: 2281
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/his/his/himself
Death Feigner
Creature - Human Assassin (R)
First Strike, Hexproof
Morph
Whenever this creature becomes blocked or targeted by a spell or ability you don't control, if it is face-down, exile it, then return it onto the battlefield. (It returns face-up.)
While you thought I was dead, I thought you were doomed.
5/5

_________________
nice quotes from this forum


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wassup?
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2018 1:34 am 
Offline
YMtC Champ '14
YMTC Pro Tour Champion
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04, 2014
Posts: 12579
Location: Freedom
Preferred Pronoun Set: they
I'm not sure there's a way to make this work: face-down cards don't have abilities, so it can't trigger. you might be able to get away with giving it Morph and "unmorph ~ only if it's the target of a spell or ability an opponent controls", but then you have to lose the baseline morph cost. there might be a way to hack the rules to make this work but I'd be pretty cautious with it.

:duel:

_________________
I tend to agree with Razor.

Pro Tour: YMTC: SECOND ONE IS OVER STAY TUNED FOR THIRD ONE
The BLOCK I'm currently pretending I'll finish: Fleets Of Ossia (complete!) | Wavebreak (complete!) | The Second Flood (in progress!)
Razorborne and friends teach music theory to chumps like you: 12tone


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wassup?
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:58 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 3001
"You may turn this card face up without paying its Morph cost as long as it blocked or targeted by a spell or ability you don't control"?

Would that work? Probably not, huh?

_________________
Come and play 3 Card Magic! The Most Minimalistic Magic Format! (TM)

my ego sig


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wassup?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 4:39 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 01, 2015
Posts: 560
From the comprehensive rules about morph 702.36d
".. show all players what the permanent’s morph cost would be if it were face up, pay that cost, then turn the permanent face up."
So maybe that means you can have a static ability on the front that changes the cost under the right condition. I'm never certain about rules that care about how things "would be if" they were different.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group