No Goblins Allowed
http://radiovive.us/

Magic for dummies...like me!
http://radiovive.us/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=14301
Page 17 of 19

Author:  Banedon [ Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

What happens if I have a Slippery Bogle enchanted with Hyena Umbra and my opponent pops Engineered Explosives for one - does the Bogle die and is saved by Umbra, or does the Explosives kill both (since they're both 1-CMC)?

Author:  NightHawk233 [ Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:33 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

"If a spell or ability (such as Planar Cleansing) would destroy both an Aura with totem armor and the permanent it’s enchanting at the same time, totem armor’s effect will save the enchanted permanent from being destroyed. Instead, the spell or ability will destroy the Aura in two different ways at the same time, but the result is the same as destroying it once"

Author:  Banedon [ Sun Dec 17, 2017 3:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

Oh boy I'm sure I read the gatherer rulings and still managed to miss that. Thanks!

Author:  Banedon [ Tue Jan 02, 2018 3:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

What happens if Phyrexian Metamorph copies something that was a creature, but then ceases to become a creature? For example, a Gideon that turns back into a planeswalker, or an enchantment animated by Starfield of Nyx and then Starfield is removed?

I'm guessing that in the first case Phyrexian Metamorph dies (since it doesn't copy counters, which should include loyalty counters) while in the second, it turns into an enchantment?

Author:  sixty4half [ Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:34 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

With Starfield of Nyx it would become the Enchantment as the Enchantment was printed. Starfield would then make it a creature and it would be an Artifact Enchantment Creature. If you ever lost enchantments and went below 5 then Metamorph would become just the Artifact Enchantment and lose it's creature status.

Gideon. He would become Gideon as the card is printed. He would however, have no loyalty counters. He'd die immediately unless you had something that gives Planeswalkers Loyalty Counters when they ETB.


Ruling in the Gatherer Page - Except for also being an artifact, Phyrexian Metamorph copies exactly what was printed on the original permanent and nothing more (unless that creature is itself copying something or is a token; see below). It doesn’t copy whether that permanent is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras attached to it, or any noncopy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, and so on.

Author:  thedevilwuster [ Thu Jan 11, 2018 6:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

School me.
I hindsight I'm now assuming "gets +1/+1" is distinct from a +1/+1 counter. Right?
I just screwed up thinking a Merfolk was unblockable because he "got" instead of having placed by another creature, instant, etc.
He was not unblockable and died. I won the game anyway. First outing on a nice little Simic Merfolk deck I just built.

Author:  Banedon [ Thu Jan 11, 2018 11:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

Yes, getting +1/+1 isn't the same as getting a +1/+1 counter. +1/+1 typically wears off at end of turn, +1/+1 counters stay on.

Author:  Banedon [ Sun Feb 04, 2018 9:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

How exactly does the interaction between Blood Sun and Unclaimed Territory work? Gatherer ruling says "If a land has an ability that causes it to enter the battlefield tapped, it will lose that ability before it applies. The same is also true of any other abilities of a land that modify how it enters the battlefield or apply “as” it enters the battlefield, such as the first ability of Unclaimed Territory."

I'm taking this to mean that if Blood Sun is on the battlefield and I play Unclaimed Territory, I can only ever tap Unclaimed Territory for colorless mana, since I never get the chance to name something. This applies even if Blood Sun is destroyed, since the Unclaimed Territory would already have ETB'ed when that happens. Correct?

Author:  sixty4half [ Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:10 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

Correct

Author:  Mwuanno [ Thu Mar 01, 2018 5:47 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

Banedon wrote:
What happens if Phyrexian Metamorph copies something that was a creature, but then ceases to become a creature? For example, a Gideon that turns back into a planeswalker, or an enchantment animated by Starfield of Nyx and then Starfield is removed?

I'm guessing that in the first case Phyrexian Metamorph dies (since it doesn't copy counters, which should include loyalty counters) while in the second, it turns into an enchantment?


sixty4half wrote:
With Starfield of Nyx it would become the Enchantment as the Enchantment was printed. Starfield would then make it a creature and it would be an Artifact Enchantment Creature. If you ever lost enchantments and went below 5 then Metamorph would become just the Artifact Enchantment and lose it's creature status.

Gideon. He would become Gideon as the card is printed. He would however, have no loyalty counters. He'd die immediately unless you had something that gives Planeswalkers Loyalty Counters when they ETB.


Ruling in the Gatherer Page - Except for also being an artifact, Phyrexian Metamorph copies exactly what was printed on the original permanent and nothing more (unless that creature is itself copying something or is a token; see below). It doesn’t copy whether that permanent is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras attached to it, or any noncopy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, and so on.


You are correct in the Starfield example, Phyrexian Metamorph will copy the animated enchantment and if Starfield leaves or the condition is no longer met, it will become just an artifact enchantment.

In the planeswalker example, it's a different story. With Gideon animated as a creature, he is a "Planeswalker Creature - Gideon Human Soldier". If Phyrexian Metamorph is played and Gideon is selected, it will enter the battlefield as a copy of Gideon. A non-animated planeswalker. It will have loyalty counters placed on him, just like any planeswalker has when it enters the battlefield. Before you can do anything else, state-based effects are checked, and because only one planeswalker with the name Gideon can be under your control, you will have to choose which of them you wish to move to the graveyard. See this link for more info.

[edit] This assumes everything above is under your control. If your opponent has a planeswalker which has somehow been animated as a creature, you could clone that and both planeswalkers will remain on the battlefield as they are controlled by different players.

Author:  Banedon [ Mon Mar 26, 2018 6:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

Quick follow up question, if Phyrexian Metamorph is copying Bitterblossom in the Starfield of Nyx scenario, will it generate 1 token a turn and lose me one life even after Starfield is put into the graveyard? I assume so since why not, but just making sure.

Also, can I play Walking Ballista for 0 and then sacrifice it to Arcbound Ravager before it dies? I'm guessing no: the check for toughness = 0 is a state-based action, so Ballista dies before either player gains priority, which is required to use Arcbound Ravager.

Author:  thedevilwuster [ Tue Mar 27, 2018 11:33 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

Well a problem exists in wanting to copy Bitterblossom with PM for one thing so my answer is the question is moot.
Walking for 0 would fail to enter the battlefield.

Author:  sixty4half [ Wed Mar 28, 2018 8:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

Well a problem exists in wanting to copy Bitterblossom with PM for one thing so my answer is the question is moot.
Walking for 0 would fail to enter the battlefield.

Starfield of Nyx solves your problem, Mr.

Ballista definitely enters the battlefield.

Author:  thedevilwuster [ Thu Mar 29, 2018 6:28 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

sixty4half wrote:
Well a problem exists in wanting to copy Bitterblossom with PM for one thing so my answer is the question is moot.
Walking for 0 would fail to enter the battlefield.

Starfield of Nyx solves your problem, Mr.

Ballista definitely enters the battlefield.

Hmmmm
How does it enter the battlefield with 0 toughness? I thought it would just fizzle. I'm guessing if not it enters and then immediately dies.
Edit: Ok, I was not familiar with Starfield at all. Bad Dev.

Author:  NightHawk233 [ Thu Mar 29, 2018 6:50 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

sixty4half wrote:
Well a problem exists in wanting to copy Bitterblossom with PM for one thing so my answer is the question is moot.
Walking for 0 would fail to enter the battlefield.

Starfield of Nyx solves your problem, Mr.

Ballista definitely enters the battlefield.

Hmmmm
How does it enter the battlefield with 0 toughness? I thought it would just fizzle. I'm guessing if not it enters and then immediately dies.
Edit: Ok, I was not familiar with Starfield at all. Bad Dev.

Yeah pretty much that, it enters the battlefield, and before you get a chance to do anything it'll die instantly, but it does come up with stuff like Gate to the afterlife

Author:  Banedon [ Fri Apr 06, 2018 12:09 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

I attack with Hazoret the Fervent and my opponent blocks with Torrential Gearhulk. After combat I cast Humility. Do both Hazoret & Gearhulk die (as 1/1's that have taken 5 damage)? Gatherer doesn't say anything about damage wearing off when a creature is transformed, so I assume yes?

Author:  Black Barney [ Fri Apr 06, 2018 6:41 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

Gearhulk does, Hazoret lives on! He can’t be killed by combat damage, the other guy can.

Author:  Haven_pt [ Fri Apr 06, 2018 8:23 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

Gearhulk does, Hazoret lives on! He can’t be killed by combat damage, the other guy can.


They both die, because humility also removes all abilities irc.

Author:  Black Barney [ Fri Apr 06, 2018 3:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

Oh i thought abilities were only triggered or activated. I thought « indestructible «  was a keyword and not an ability. I didn’t realize everything was an ability

Author:  Haven_pt [ Sun Apr 08, 2018 7:29 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Magic for dummies...like me!

Oh i thought abilities were only triggered or activated. I thought « indestructible «  was a keyword and not an ability. I didn’t realize everything was an ability


Not sure when they started using the term "keyword" but when I used to play paper Magic, it was always called abilities as the card text on humility says.
I guess abilities includes both keywords and other kinds of activated or triggered effects. Should just say: creatures become vanilla 1/1s. No confusion there.
Could be a new keyword: vanillaize.

Page 17 of 19 All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/