It is currently Fri Jul 20, 2018 11:46 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 370 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 1:25 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 521
+1 Barney.

Does it matter that Bob also looked through the graveyard and concluded that the Tarmogoyf is 5/6? I recall reading that if the opponent asks "how large is your Goyf", it's not a good idea to give an answer. Instead you should fan out your graveyard and let them do the calculations. Reason is if you do the calculations and get it wrong, you could end up with a game loss (!). The implication is if the opponent does the calculations and gets it wrong, it's not your fault.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 7:31 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov 10, 2013
Posts: 9567
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
I got into a weird situation like that once. All the information was on the board, i was attacking my opponent with lethal. He blocks a certain way, incorrectly, because he doesn’t seem aware of effects certain permanents on the board are giving certain creatures with trample and such. He blocks and asks me, « ...so I’m ok right? »

It’s a competitive qualifier so I didn’t feel like it was my job to play his game for him. So I answer, I dunno... maybe. Seems so » so he locks it in and I point out I have lethal and it sets off a storm. Lots of people watching the event. Almost exactly half split into two camps. Half think I’m right that I don’t need to play the game for him, the other half says i mispresented the board state

Judge comes over, rules on my side and that’s that

We were good friends too me and this opponent which made it worse

_________________
DCG-MTG wrote:
There's a limited amount of fun to be had in a single game, and this deck will ensure no one has any of it.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 10:15 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 03, 2013
Posts: 2584
I got into a weird situation like that once. All the information was on the board, i was attacking my opponent with lethal. He blocks a certain way, incorrectly, because he doesn’t seem aware of effects certain permanents on the board are giving certain creatures with trample and such. He blocks and asks me, « ...so I’m ok right? »

It’s a competitive qualifier so I didn’t feel like it was my job to play his game for him. So I answer, I dunno... maybe. Seems so » so he locks it in and I point out I have lethal and it sets off a storm. Lots of people watching the event. Almost exactly half split into two camps. Half think I’m right that I don’t need to play the game for him, the other half says i mispresented the board state

Judge comes over, rules on my side and that’s that

We were good friends too me and this opponent which made it worse


Damn, that's a tough situation for all involved. I don't even know how I would react, in-the-moment. In retrospect I think the best move is just look them in the eye for about 5 seconds, pokerface style. Then slowly ask, "Do you think that was an appropriate question given our current situation?" And just refuse to give an answer. But then, obviously, that translates to a "No, you're not alright." But it might just get them out of the right head space.

Banedon wrote:
+1 Barney.

Does it matter that Bob also looked through the graveyard and concluded that the Tarmogoyf is 5/6? I recall reading that if the opponent asks "how large is your Goyf", it's not a good idea to give an answer. Instead you should fan out your graveyard and let them do the calculations. Reason is if you do the calculations and get it wrong, you could end up with a game loss (!). The implication is if the opponent does the calculations and gets it wrong, it's not your fault.


Ah yeah, I missed that point. Again, in situations with friends at home, there's a lot of patience and understanding that has to go on unless there's a gentlemen's agreement to not. I have one friend that when we play with him, there's no "going back." He expects you and anyone else to fully understand the cards and the rules that go along with them. If you don't you ask before you make a move, not after. Even if that could possible tip your planned tactics.

I guess that's the way to do it in Competitive REL since it puts the onus on your opponent. IMHO it feels cheap though. It's your 'Goyf, you need to keep track of it. Yes, I'm allowed access to your GY to make sure you are representing it properly, but you should be keeping a running count in your head. IMO you don't play with cards that you're not going to put the effort into playing properly and keeping track of */* is part of the effort of playing 'Goyf. In competitive situations it's all up to the judge, but we have the REL to tell us how we should expect a judge to make a decision.

Back to the home/tabletop situation; Also, take into consideration what's going on around you. If you guys are talking about the latest episode of Walking Dead and drinking margaritas while you're playing, then expect mistakes to be made, and be a little more forgiving of people wanting to take a move back because they missed a the fact that you played some bomb while they were in the middle of describing how
Spoiler


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 10:27 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov 10, 2013
Posts: 9567
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
yeah, tough situation for sure. it's comes down to the difference between competitors and non-competitiors. The friend I was playing against at the qualifier was a very cool and casual player so it shocked him that we were playing different than we would in, say, his garage.

When I used to compete at top events for CCGs, i would practice with a really cool friend (i miss him) at his place. His g/f at the time would make us tea and we'd be up late practicing. It sounds stupid maybe but we would enforce full tournament rules, so there were no takebacks or anything. When we'd compete, we'd be sharp as a sword and it would help a bunch since lots of people make clumsy fumbles.

I see this in poker a lot too when people play very casual usually (string bets, flipped cards) which will hurt you in actual live play.

I like your solution to my situation Sixty but I think in retrospect the best answer was probably for me to not say anything. Let him figure it out and then there is NO WAY I am misrepresenting the board state. Just shrug.

_________________
DCG-MTG wrote:
There's a limited amount of fun to be had in a single game, and this deck will ensure no one has any of it.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2018 6:54 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 521
Question about Field of Ruin. The card doesn't say searching is optional. However it also doesn't say "search your opponent's deck for a basic land ..." which means you don't get to look at your opponent's deck. How can you know that if the opponent searches but fails to find a basic, he's not cheating?

Another question about morph cards. Say my opponent has 3 morph cards in play. I Mindslaver him and see which morph creatures they are. Next turn, is he allowed to shuffle those morph creatures such that I no longer know which is which before attacking?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2018 12:54 am 
Online
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec 19, 2015
Posts: 1420
Banedon wrote:
Question about Field of Ruin. The card doesn't say searching is optional. However it also doesn't say "search your opponent's deck for a basic land ..." which means you don't get to look at your opponent's deck. How can you know that if the opponent searches but fails to find a basic, he's not cheating?


Quote:
701.14b If a player is searching a hidden zone for cards with a stated quality, such as a card with a certain card type or color, that player isn’t required to find some or all of those cards even if they’re present in that zone.


Ergo: Your opponent may fail to find a basic land off the Field of Ruin trigger or his own Evolving Wilds trigger.
He may not, however, fail to find off a general search trigger, e.g. Demonic Tutor.


Banedon wrote:
Another question about morph cards. Say my opponent has 3 morph cards in play. I Mindslaver him and see which morph creatures they are. Next turn, is he allowed to shuffle those morph creatures such that I no longer know which is which before attacking?


I don't have the rules text ready for this, but he may not. In fact, he has to differentiate his morphs at any given time (so that you can always tell which morph he played turn 3 and which he played on turn 5, for instance).
At PT Khans, they actually noted down the order in which the Morphs came down on the Morph overlay cards; you may want to do something similar.

_________________
My decks can be found in my deckbuilder archive. Enter here!


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 11:37 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul 28, 2015
Posts: 4330
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: uhhhhh
Modulo wrote:
Banedon wrote:
Another question about morph cards. Say my opponent has 3 morph cards in play. I Mindslaver him and see which morph creatures they are. Next turn, is he allowed to shuffle those morph creatures such that I no longer know which is which before attacking?


I don't have the rules text ready for this, but he may not. In fact, he has to differentiate his morphs at any given time (so that you can always tell which morph he played turn 3 and which he played on turn 5, for instance).
At PT Khans, they actually noted down the order in which the Morphs came down on the Morph overlay cards; you may want to do something similar.


Really? Huh. I would've figured it was the same as your hand, in that it is hidden information and thus always capable of being re-organized (like shuffling your hand after your opponent peeks at it).

_________________
KLD Season King of the Hill Winner.
EMN Season King of the Hill Winner.

The one true King of NGA Magic Duels on Xbox One.

You want some? Come get some. You don't like me? Bite me.

Day 1,000 of the never-ending Vert monarchy.

viewtopic.php?f=38&t=16077

Magic's a simple game, 2 people take turns playing cards and in the end Divinevert wins 2-0...


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 12:14 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar 18, 2016
Posts: 2041
Location: Anyway the wind blows
Identity: doesnt really matter
Preferred Pronoun Set: to me
divinevert wrote:
Modulo wrote:
Banedon wrote:
Another question about morph cards. Say my opponent has 3 morph cards in play. I Mindslaver him and see which morph creatures they are. Next turn, is he allowed to shuffle those morph creatures such that I no longer know which is which before attacking?


I don't have the rules text ready for this, but he may not. In fact, he has to differentiate his morphs at any given time (so that you can always tell which morph he played turn 3 and which he played on turn 5, for instance).
At PT Khans, they actually noted down the order in which the Morphs came down on the Morph overlay cards; you may want to do something similar.


Really? Huh. I would've figured it was the same as your hand, in that it is hidden information and thus always capable of being re-organized (like shuffling your hand after your opponent peeks at it).


I've noticed in Arena games, once you've seen a card in opps hand (or even something that went to top of library IIRC), those cards are always revealed to you - showing as face out afterwards. Removes an element of memory skill from the game, but I wonder if it's done in the spirit of that rule (or a similar rule that isn't specific to morph cards)?

Reorganizing your hand after an opponent peaks seems pointless tho, except as maybe a mind game. Only advantage I can think of for doing it is if you draw a duplicate spell, but even in that case casting the copy they saw instead of the one you just drew does the same thing with keeping new information hidden.

_________________
Updated Decklists


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 1:59 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul 28, 2015
Posts: 4330
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: uhhhhh
divinevert wrote:
Modulo wrote:


I don't have the rules text ready for this, but he may not. In fact, he has to differentiate his morphs at any given time (so that you can always tell which morph he played turn 3 and which he played on turn 5, for instance).
At PT Khans, they actually noted down the order in which the Morphs came down on the Morph overlay cards; you may want to do something similar.


Really? Huh. I would've figured it was the same as your hand, in that it is hidden information and thus always capable of being re-organized (like shuffling your hand after your opponent peeks at it).


I've noticed in Arena games, once you've seen a card in opps hand (or even something that went to top of library IIRC), those cards are always revealed to you - showing as face out afterwards. Removes an element of memory skill from the game, but I wonder if it's done in the spirit of that rule (or a similar rule that isn't specific to morph cards)?

Reorganizing your hand after an opponent peaks seems pointless tho, except as maybe a mind game. Only advantage I can think of for doing it is if you draw a duplicate spell, but even in that case casting the copy they saw instead of the one you just drew does the same thing with keeping new information hidden.


I suppose so. Usually it came up where you'd discard a card at random, but that's only because we usually let the opponent choose the card, as opposed to something more perfectly random like a dice roll to determine it.

_________________
KLD Season King of the Hill Winner.
EMN Season King of the Hill Winner.

The one true King of NGA Magic Duels on Xbox One.

You want some? Come get some. You don't like me? Bite me.

Day 1,000 of the never-ending Vert monarchy.

viewtopic.php?f=38&t=16077

Magic's a simple game, 2 people take turns playing cards and in the end Divinevert wins 2-0...


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 1:27 am 
Online
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec 19, 2015
Posts: 1420
Found the rules text for it.

Quote:
707.6. If you control multiple face-down spells or face-down permanents, you must ensure at all times that your face-down spells and permanents can be easily differentiated from each other. This includes, but is not limited to, knowing what ability or rules caused the permanents to be face down, the order spells were cast, the order that face-down permanents entered the battlefield, which creature(s) attacked last turn, and any other differences between face-down spells or permanents. Common methods for distinguishing between face-down objects include using counters or dice to mark the different objects, or clearly placing those objects in order on the table.


That is, in fact, one of the lesser known rules and I thought otherwise as well until I played the Khans Limited format.

_________________
My decks can be found in my deckbuilder archive. Enter here!


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 370 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group