It is currently Wed Nov 21, 2018 3:12 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 389 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 16, 17, 18, 19, 20
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2018 2:59 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 03, 2013
Posts: 2591
Banedon wrote:
Say I have three 1/1's. My opponent has Slimefoot, the Stowaway and a Saproling. He's at one life. I attack with everything. Is opponent:

1) Dead because he can only block two attackers -> one goes unblocked and his life goes down to zero, or
2) Alive because his saproling dies, Slimefoot triggers, and he gains one life?

I strongly suspect the answer is #1 since Slimefoot triggers presumably never resolve if one is at 0 life (because of state-based actions), but I'm not completely certain. However if one of my attackers had first strike then my opponent can stay alive by blocking that first striker with the 1/1. I had a similar situation come up in arena, but didn't get to confirm how it works then.


It's 1 for the reasons you stated, unless option 3) he has 4 mana untapped and makes another saproling.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:00 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 855
Here's an unusual situation. I'm playing Modern against an opponent playing Ad Nauseaum combo. He plays Spoils of the Vault naming Lotus Bloom, but before he finds a Lotus Bloom, he runs out of life. He concedes.

Can he concede before his Spoils finishes resolving? I want to see what else is in his deck. In Magic Online, I will indeed get to see, and I wonder if the same applies to paper.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2018 9:02 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 30, 2013
Posts: 11702
Location: Secret Lair
104.3a A player can concede the game at any time. A player who concedes leaves the game immediately. He or she loses the game.

101.1. Whenever a card’s text directly contradicts these rules, the card takes precedence. The card overrides only the rule that applies to that specific situation. The only exception is that a player can concede the game at any time (see rule 104.3a).

712.6. The controller of another player can’t make that player concede. A player may concede the game at any time, even if he or she is controlled by another player. See rule 104.3a.

405.6. Some things that happen during the game don’t use the stack.

405.6g A player may concede the game at any time. That player leaves the game immediately. See rule 104.3a.

----------------------------------------------

Conceding takes place immediately and is not governed by the stack. You can concede at any point in time and you and your board leave the game immediately.

_________________
"Let strength be granted so the world might be mended. So the world might be mended."


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2018 9:10 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 30, 2013
Posts: 11702
Location: Secret Lair
Sometimes, Magic is really weird. For example:

1) It is an official ruling that taking your pants off is faster than instant speed.

2) It is also an official ruling that you can't force your opponent to take their pants off while controlling them.

3) In addition, they ruled that taking your clothing off in a tournament setting is still subject to public indecency laws.

Each of these is an official ruling from a tournament setting. In fact, three separate tournament settings.

_________________
"Let strength be granted so the world might be mended. So the world might be mended."


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2018 4:44 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb 29, 2016
Posts: 2734
Location: Portugal
I play magic arena without any pants on all the time.

:Feels good:

_________________
Give me land, Give me fire, Give me that which I desire! :mage:
My Duels Youtube Channel


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2018 5:46 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 855
mjack33 wrote:
Sometimes, Magic is really weird. For example:

1) It is an official ruling that taking your pants off is faster than instant speed.

2) It is also an official ruling that you can't force your opponent to take their pants off while controlling them.

3) In addition, they ruled that taking your clothing off in a tournament setting is still subject to public indecency laws.

Each of these is an official ruling from a tournament setting. In fact, three separate tournament settings.


Is that a serious answer :confused:

Also, how come my Burning Sun's Avatar cannot target my opponent's Shalai, Voice of Plenty? Like yeah, I can't burn him for 3, but I ought to be able to hit his Shalai (?)


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2018 8:03 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 03, 2013
Posts: 2591
Banedon wrote:
mjack33 wrote:
*deleted all the *****


Is that a serious answer :confused:

For him? Yeah, he's probably **** serious. Have you met mjack? j/k, I know you have.
Banedon wrote:
Also, how come my Burning Sun's Avatar cannot target my opponent's Shalai, Voice of Plenty? Like yeah, I can't burn him for 3, but I ought to be able to hit his Shalai (?)


All of the targets must be legal at the time of casting.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 6:34 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 855
How do you tell which abilities require both targets to be legal and which don't?

Also, any idea about this? viewtopic.php?f=62&t=21981&start=20#p623283


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 12:00 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 03, 2013
Posts: 2591
Banedon wrote:
How do you tell which abilities require both targets to be legal and which don't?

Also, any idea about this? viewtopic.php?f=62&t=21981&start=20#p623283


Linguistics; Everything within a single sentence must all be legal together. Separate sentences are treated separately. In Burning Suns Avatar both targets are only separated by a comma.

However, on Seeds of Strength there are three different sentences. If one or two of those targets becomes invalid for any reason, the remaining valid targets will still receive +1/+1 until end of turn.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 389 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 16, 17, 18, 19, 20

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group