It is currently Tue Aug 21, 2018 8:12 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Paying life
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 11:48 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 10, 2015
Posts: 2800
Location: California
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/his/his/himself
Rules question: If you pay life to cast a spell, and the spell references your life total, is it your life total before you paid the life or after you paid the life?

_________________
Is it just me, or does Bruse Tarl look like an 1890s Barnum circus strongman who'd hawk strength tonic patent medicines on the side?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paying life
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 12:14 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 2773
It's whatever your life total is at the time. The important part is the order that the spell is cast in. There's generally only 2 times I can think of when your life total might be important:

If your life total is important in determining the total cost (like, "this spell costs X less to cast, where X is your life total), then it is whatever your life total is BEFORE you pay those costs.
If your life total is important in the spell's effect (like, double your life total), your life total will only matter when it goes to RESOLVE.

_________________
Quote:
"If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors." — Galef, Dakka Dakka Forums


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paying life
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 1:22 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 10, 2015
Posts: 2800
Location: California
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/his/his/himself
Fateful hour falls under your second example, not your first, correct?

_________________
Is it just me, or does Bruse Tarl look like an 1890s Barnum circus strongman who'd hawk strength tonic patent medicines on the side?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paying life
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 2:46 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 2773
That's correct! Break of Day, for example, doesn't care whether you are at 1 life of 50 when you cast it... it just cares what it is when it resolves.

EDIT:
Here's a more complex one; Faith's Shield. It might seem that it'd care when you cast it, but note that it has the replacement effect of "instead", meaning that you still target stuff with it, but the Fateful Hour part resolves INSTEAD of just the ordinary effect.

_________________
Quote:
"If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors." — Galef, Dakka Dakka Forums


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group