It is currently Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:20 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:22 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 05, 2014
Posts: 1281
Location: Berk
Identity: Dragon
If I have a Ripjaw Raptor with either a Pariah or Pariah's Shield attached to it and I activate Pyrohemia one time, do I draw one card or two?

I know from Kindle the Carnage that a single source can have multiple instances of damage even within the same stack object resolution according to the gatherer ruling, but I also know that card is a corner case and I wasn't sure if that same corner case applied here.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:29 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 2800
It will only trigger once. Ripjaw Raptor has only been dealt damage damage once. There's only 1 instance of "everything takes damage", even if that instance causes the Ripjaw Raptor to take 2 damage. The reason Kindle the Carnage can deal multiple instances of damage is because as you follow through it's instructions, it deals it multiple, but separate, times (it repeats).

_________________
Quote:
"If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors." — Galef, Dakka Dakka Forums


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:33 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 05, 2014
Posts: 1281
Location: Berk
Identity: Dragon
Thank you very much!
What happens when I have a Lashknife Barrier in that board state too?

How about Lashknife Barrier and Urza's Armor?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 4:31 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 04, 2015
Posts: 4649
Location: Alchemist's Refuge
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/his/his/himself
Flyheight wrote:
What happens when I have a Lashknife Barrier in that board state too?


1 damage is prevented subtracted from 2 damage. 1 damage total will be dealt to your Pariah'd Ripjaw Raptor.

Quote:


Pariah and Barrier set up replacement effects. Armor sets up a prevention effect. Prevention effects and replacement effects are applied at basically the same time. The controller of a permanent or the player being affected by an event that can be replaced or prevented chooses the order in which replacement effects and prevention effects are applied. So, you can do things one of two ways:

Redirect damage to Ripjaw before it is dealt to you. Lashknife Barrier prevents reduces 1 of that damage. Ripjaw takes 1 damage.

or

Prevent 1 damage to you. Prevent Reduce 1 damage that would be dealt to Ripjaw. No damage is dealt.

Relevant rules


Edit: I'm sorry, I didn't actually check the Oracle text of Lashknife Barrier. It's a replacement effect as well, not a prevention effect. Not that it changes the outcome. It just changes interactions with stuff like Unstable Footing.

_________________
Former Rules Advisor (RA program ended 5-3-16)

Up High, Down Low, Whoops, Too Slow.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group