No Goblins Allowed
http://radiovive.us/

Pyrohemia, Pariah, and Enrage
http://radiovive.us/viewtopic.php?f=56&t=19835
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Flyheight [ Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:22 pm ]
Post subject:  Pyrohemia, Pariah, and Enrage

If I have a Ripjaw Raptor with either a Pariah or Pariah's Shield attached to it and I activate Pyrohemia one time, do I draw one card or two?

I know from Kindle the Carnage that a single source can have multiple instances of damage even within the same stack object resolution according to the gatherer ruling, but I also know that card is a corner case and I wasn't sure if that same corner case applied here.

Author:  Yarium [ Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Pyrohemia, Pariah, and Enrage

It will only trigger once. Ripjaw Raptor has only been dealt damage damage once. There's only 1 instance of "everything takes damage", even if that instance causes the Ripjaw Raptor to take 2 damage. The reason Kindle the Carnage can deal multiple instances of damage is because as you follow through it's instructions, it deals it multiple, but separate, times (it repeats).

Author:  Flyheight [ Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Pyrohemia, Pariah, and Enrage

Thank you very much!
What happens when I have a Lashknife Barrier in that board state too?

How about Lashknife Barrier and Urza's Armor?

Author:  Edacade [ Thu Oct 05, 2017 4:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Pyrohemia, Pariah, and Enrage

Flyheight wrote:
What happens when I have a Lashknife Barrier in that board state too?


1 damage is prevented subtracted from 2 damage. 1 damage total will be dealt to your Pariah'd Ripjaw Raptor.

Quote:


Pariah and Barrier set up replacement effects. Armor sets up a prevention effect. Prevention effects and replacement effects are applied at basically the same time. The controller of a permanent or the player being affected by an event that can be replaced or prevented chooses the order in which replacement effects and prevention effects are applied. So, you can do things one of two ways:

Redirect damage to Ripjaw before it is dealt to you. Lashknife Barrier prevents reduces 1 of that damage. Ripjaw takes 1 damage.

or

Prevent 1 damage to you. Prevent Reduce 1 damage that would be dealt to Ripjaw. No damage is dealt.

Relevant rules


Edit: I'm sorry, I didn't actually check the Oracle text of Lashknife Barrier. It's a replacement effect as well, not a prevention effect. Not that it changes the outcome. It just changes interactions with stuff like Unstable Footing.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/