It is currently Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:14 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 1:57 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 11062
Location: Kamloops, BC
Identity: Male
If Baron Von Count were to have a second Doom counter, could it destroy multiple opponent's this way?

If you were to proliferate a Doom counter onto the good count, what number would it be on? The same as the counter it copied? Always #5? Wherever I want it to be, because it doesn't say?


The real cruxes all come from the wording of the last ability:
When the doom counter moves from "1," destroy target player and put that doom counter on "5."

Does this mean that only the Doom counter created by the etb effect can destroy my opponents? Or is it like when "other merfolk" still get +1/+1 when Master of the Pearl Trident loses its creature type? How do I untangle the pronoun confusion here?o Does "the counter" read as "a counter" when there is more than one?

And, finally, do all Doom counters reset to 5 whenever a dooming happens?
Would I be right to assume that the counter being referred to as "the counter" means only that counter is reset?

_________________
Cato wrote:
CotW is a method for ranking cards in increasing order of printability.

*"To YMTC it up" means to design cards that have value mostly from a design perspective. i.e. you would put them in a case under glass in your living room and visitors could remark upon the wonderful design principles, with nobody ever worring if the cards are annoying/pointless/confusing in actual play

TPrizesW
TPortfolioW


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 2:05 am 
Offline
YMtC Champ '14
YMTC Pro Tour Champion
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04, 2014
Posts: 12527
Location: Freedom
Preferred Pronoun Set: they
given that there is no internal consistency to the rules of Un cards, you're probably best off just sending this to MaRo directly.

:duel:

_________________
I tend to agree with Razor.

Pro Tour: YMTC: SECOND ONE IS OVER STAY TUNED FOR THIRD ONE
The BLOCK I'm currently pretending I'll finish: Fleets Of Ossia (complete!) | Wavebreak (complete!) | The Second Flood (in progress!)
Razorborne and friends teach music theory to chumps like you: 12tone


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:05 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 22, 2013
Posts: 7058
MaRo has answered a million questions about Baron von Count on his Tumblr. The short answer is; you can put another counter on the Baron, by whatever means are available, but the new counters added will not go on the number tracker, and thus won't move from one number to the next when you trigger him, and thus won't matter in any mechanical sense.

Long story short, adding extra counters to the Baron is a fool's errand. You get no mechanical benefit from doing it.

_________________
magicpablo666 wrote:
You fell victim to one of the classic blunders - The most famous of which is "never get involved in an thread with GM_Champion" - but only slightly less well-known is this: "Never go in against AzureShade when card design is on the line!"


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 1:46 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 11062
Location: Kamloops, BC
Identity: Male
:(

_________________
Cato wrote:
CotW is a method for ranking cards in increasing order of printability.

*"To YMTC it up" means to design cards that have value mostly from a design perspective. i.e. you would put them in a case under glass in your living room and visitors could remark upon the wonderful design principles, with nobody ever worring if the cards are annoying/pointless/confusing in actual play

TPrizesW
TPortfolioW


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 3:11 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 22, 2013
Posts: 7058
Yeah, and to be extra clear:

Quote:
meowitstimetoduel asked:
How does Baron Von Count, one of the legendary creatures in Unstable, interact with Proliferate? (My guess is that you get 2 doom counters on the same number, and when they both move from 1, you destroy 2 players instead of 1, then move the doom counters back to 5.)

markrosewater said:
It does not interact with proliferate in any way that helps you.

_________________
magicpablo666 wrote:
You fell victim to one of the classic blunders - The most famous of which is "never get involved in an thread with GM_Champion" - but only slightly less well-known is this: "Never go in against AzureShade when card design is on the line!"


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 5:46 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 11062
Location: Kamloops, BC
Identity: Male
:(
He is such a cruel man.

_________________
Cato wrote:
CotW is a method for ranking cards in increasing order of printability.

*"To YMTC it up" means to design cards that have value mostly from a design perspective. i.e. you would put them in a case under glass in your living room and visitors could remark upon the wonderful design principles, with nobody ever worring if the cards are annoying/pointless/confusing in actual play

TPrizesW
TPortfolioW


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 10:53 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 829
Doubling season, however....

One would assume.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 2:03 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 22, 2013
Posts: 7058
Not really. Extra doom counters, no matter how they are created and placed on the card, do not land on the number track and do not matter in almost any game-relevant way.

_________________
magicpablo666 wrote:
You fell victim to one of the classic blunders - The most famous of which is "never get involved in an thread with GM_Champion" - but only slightly less well-known is this: "Never go in against AzureShade when card design is on the line!"


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 6:24 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 829
But Doubling Season causes the Baron to enter with two counters, created by the ability that causes the counter to be put on the number track.

It's a replacement effect altering the etb ability to create two counters.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 3:40 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 09, 2013
Posts: 326
the key word is with a doom counter on "5."

if you somehow made a second "5" since that's what the doom counter enters on..

_________________
"angelheaded hipsters burning for the ancient heavenly connection to the starry dynamo in the machinery of night," -GINSBERG

The Secret of Commander (EDH)
Sheldon wrote:
The secret of this format is in not breaking it.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group