It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 11:58 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 11:07 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 13, 2018
Posts: 4
Location: United States
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: He/Him/His/Himself
The rules for this were very confusing for me. If I have 1 health at the start of my upkeep, and draw the normal card that brings me down to 0 health because someone else has a card that deals 1 damage for every card drawn, do I leave the game at that moment, or can I still do things before I die?

_________________
New to Magic. Still learning :D.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 11:43 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 22, 2013
Posts: 7065
When you hit 0 is when state based effects remove you from the game.

_________________
magicpablo666 wrote:
You fell victim to one of the classic blunders - The most famous of which is "never get involved in an thread with GM_Champion" - but only slightly less well-known is this: "Never go in against AzureShade when card design is on the line!"


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 12:15 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 11087
Location: Kamloops, BC
Identity: Male
Yeah, as soon as the effect that put you at 0 has finished putting you at 0. Before the game moves to check the next thing that's happening, it checks for "state based effects", sees you're at 0 and makes you dead. Unless you're already a Lich.

_________________
Cato wrote:
CotW is a method for ranking cards in increasing order of printability.

*"To YMTC it up" means to design cards that have value mostly from a design perspective. i.e. you would put them in a case under glass in your living room and visitors could remark upon the wonderful design principles, with nobody ever worring if the cards are annoying/pointless/confusing in actual play

TPrizesW
TPortfolioW


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 2:55 am 
Offline
YMtC Champ '14
YMTC Pro Tour Champion
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04, 2014
Posts: 12540
Location: Freedom
Preferred Pronoun Set: they
well hold on, though. the card in question (presumably underworld dreams) is a triggered ability, which means it doesn't happen literally as soon as you draw a card. there is a delay between when you draw and when you take damage, and in that time you can cast instants in response to the ability, including whatever you drew. the other posters are correct that you lose as soon as you hit 0 (or, at least, close enough for these purposes) but in the specific case described, you have a window before you actually die, not because you're surviving with 0 health but because you're not at 0 health yet.

:duel:

_________________
I tend to agree with Razor.

Pro Tour: YMTC: SECOND ONE IS OVER STAY TUNED FOR THIRD ONE
The BLOCK I'm currently pretending I'll finish: Fleets Of Ossia (complete!) | Wavebreak (complete!) | The Second Flood (in progress!)
Razorborne and friends teach music theory to chumps like you: 12tone


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group