It is currently Sat Sep 22, 2018 4:12 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:39 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 05, 2014
Posts: 1288
Location: Berk
Identity: Dragon
Image

I'm not thrilled about my chances of MaRo seeing my question on Tumblr so I'll ask here too, even if Un-rulings are fuzzy areas.

When a creature gets sacced do the keywords that the enchantment distributes only those that are printed on it or does it include granted keywords that the creature had the last time it was on the battlefield? For example if the creature was equipped with Sword of Vengeance do we get the kitchen sink too? Similarly would a fully leveled Student of Warfare distribute double strike? I believe the answer is the same for both of these cases.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:14 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 2809
Well, the closest I'd imagine is that Last Known Information would apply. When the creature was last on the battlefield, did it have First Strike? If yes, it grants first strike. Same for every other keyword ability.

_________________
Quote:
"If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors." — Galef, Dakka Dakka Forums


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:42 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 09, 2013
Posts: 5870
Location: Mountain View
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him
Yeah, Last Known Information should apply here.

Student of Warfare is actually an interesting case. If it's fully leveled up when you sacrifice it, it has three keyword abilities to distribute: level up , first strike, and double strike.

Gatherer Ruling wrote:
6/15/2010 The abilities a leveler grants to itself don’t overwrite any other abilities it may have. In particular, they don’t overwrite the creature’s level up ability; it always has that.


Edit: This is incorrect. See below.

_________________
0x10


Last edited by CommanderJim on Tue Oct 17, 2017 6:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:45 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 04, 2015
Posts: 4649
Location: Alchemist's Refuge
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/his/his/himself
What I'd be more interested in knowing is: do you get to distribute redundant keyword abilities? Such as:

You have two Valors in your graveyard and control a Plains. Do you get to hand out two instances of First Strike when you sacrifice an otherwise-vanilla creature?

_________________
Former Rules Advisor (RA program ended 5-3-16)

Up High, Down Low, Whoops, Too Slow.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:53 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 05, 2014
Posts: 1288
Location: Berk
Identity: Dragon
Last Known Information is what I suspected, but I'm certainly not an expert in the rules so I greatly appreciate the confirmation.

Student of Warfare only has first strike from levels 2-6, not 2+ so I don't think a student on level 7 would have or distribute first strike.
If I'm wrong please tell me, but that's how I intuit the level up abilities.
Quote:
710.2. A level symbol is a keyword ability that represents a static ability. The level symbol includes either a range of numbers, indicated here as “N1-N2,” or a single number followed by a plus sign, indicated here as “N3+.” Any abilities printed within the same text box striation as a level symbol are part of its static ability. The same is true of the power/toughness box printed within that striation, indicated here as “[P/T].”

710.2a “{LEVEL N1-N2} [Abilities] [P/T]” means “As long as this creature has at least N1 level counters on it, but no more than N2 level counters on it, it has base power and toughness [P/T] and has [abilities].”

710.2b “{LEVEL N3+} [Abilities] [P/T]” means “As long as this creature has N3 or more level counters on it, it has base power and toughness [P/T] and has [abilities].”
I think the ruling you're quoting is there so that any abilities granted in other manners (such as with equipment) don't get overwritten.


As for redistributing redundant abilities, I know that multiple instances of flanking, which is also a keyword (though it stacks beautifully), are treated as separate instances so I don't see why first strike or anything else should be treated differently.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 6:10 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 09, 2013
Posts: 5870
Location: Mountain View
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him
Oops. I could've sworn levelers kept abilities from all levels, but it makes sense that the "2-6" part of the card only applies to levels two through six.

_________________
0x10


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:46 am 
Online
YMtC Champ '14
YMTC Pro Tour Champion
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04, 2014
Posts: 12534
Location: Freedom
Preferred Pronoun Set: they
Flyheight wrote:
I think the ruling you're quoting is there so that any abilities granted in other manners (such as with equipment) don't get overwritten.[/quote]I suspect it's mainly about them keeping Level Up itself.

:duel:

_________________
I tend to agree with Razor.

Pro Tour: YMTC: SECOND ONE IS OVER STAY TUNED FOR THIRD ONE
The BLOCK I'm currently pretending I'll finish: Fleets Of Ossia (complete!) | Wavebreak (complete!) | The Second Flood (in progress!)
Razorborne and friends teach music theory to chumps like you: 12tone


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group