It is currently Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:32 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 387 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:07 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 781
What happens if I have a Slippery Bogle enchanted with Hyena Umbra and my opponent pops Engineered Explosives for one - does the Bogle die and is saved by Umbra, or does the Explosives kill both (since they're both 1-CMC)?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:33 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr 30, 2015
Posts: 1477
"If a spell or ability (such as Planar Cleansing) would destroy both an Aura with totem armor and the permanent it’s enchanting at the same time, totem armor’s effect will save the enchanted permanent from being destroyed. Instead, the spell or ability will destroy the Aura in two different ways at the same time, but the result is the same as destroying it once"

_________________
Future Actual winner of Steam Showdown 5.
I have a Magic Youtube channel, check it out here!
https://www.youtube.com/c/Nighthawk233


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 3:30 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 781
Oh boy I'm sure I read the gatherer rulings and still managed to miss that. Thanks!


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 3:34 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 781
What happens if Phyrexian Metamorph copies something that was a creature, but then ceases to become a creature? For example, a Gideon that turns back into a planeswalker, or an enchantment animated by Starfield of Nyx and then Starfield is removed?

I'm guessing that in the first case Phyrexian Metamorph dies (since it doesn't copy counters, which should include loyalty counters) while in the second, it turns into an enchantment?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:34 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 03, 2013
Posts: 2590
With Starfield of Nyx it would become the Enchantment as the Enchantment was printed. Starfield would then make it a creature and it would be an Artifact Enchantment Creature. If you ever lost enchantments and went below 5 then Metamorph would become just the Artifact Enchantment and lose it's creature status.

Gideon. He would become Gideon as the card is printed. He would however, have no loyalty counters. He'd die immediately unless you had something that gives Planeswalkers Loyalty Counters when they ETB.


Ruling in the Gatherer Page - Except for also being an artifact, Phyrexian Metamorph copies exactly what was printed on the original permanent and nothing more (unless that creature is itself copying something or is a token; see below). It doesn’t copy whether that permanent is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras attached to it, or any noncopy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, and so on.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 6:58 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 02, 2013
Posts: 3878
Location: 1,824.5 meters underground.
Preferred Pronoun Set: Mr.
School me.
I hindsight I'm now assuming "gets +1/+1" is distinct from a +1/+1 counter. Right?
I just screwed up thinking a Merfolk was unblockable because he "got" instead of having placed by another creature, instant, etc.
He was not unblockable and died. I won the game anyway. First outing on a nice little Simic Merfolk deck I just built.

_________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open one's mouth and remove all doubt. - Mark Twain

New Arena Content Now! Streaming coming soon!
https://www.youtube.com/user/thedevilwuster
My band Shakey Deal YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBpPU1fbAjSPTfu3g0vubLw
Shakey Deal Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/ShakeyDeal.Neil.Young.tribute/
Shakey Deal Audio Page
https://www.facebook.com/ShakeyDealAudio1/


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 11:57 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 781
Yes, getting +1/+1 isn't the same as getting a +1/+1 counter. +1/+1 typically wears off at end of turn, +1/+1 counters stay on.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 9:29 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 781
How exactly does the interaction between Blood Sun and Unclaimed Territory work? Gatherer ruling says "If a land has an ability that causes it to enter the battlefield tapped, it will lose that ability before it applies. The same is also true of any other abilities of a land that modify how it enters the battlefield or apply “as” it enters the battlefield, such as the first ability of Unclaimed Territory."

I'm taking this to mean that if Blood Sun is on the battlefield and I play Unclaimed Territory, I can only ever tap Unclaimed Territory for colorless mana, since I never get the chance to name something. This applies even if Blood Sun is destroyed, since the Unclaimed Territory would already have ETB'ed when that happens. Correct?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:10 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 03, 2013
Posts: 2590
Correct


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 5:47 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 17, 2013
Posts: 735
Banedon wrote:
What happens if Phyrexian Metamorph copies something that was a creature, but then ceases to become a creature? For example, a Gideon that turns back into a planeswalker, or an enchantment animated by Starfield of Nyx and then Starfield is removed?

I'm guessing that in the first case Phyrexian Metamorph dies (since it doesn't copy counters, which should include loyalty counters) while in the second, it turns into an enchantment?


sixty4half wrote:
With Starfield of Nyx it would become the Enchantment as the Enchantment was printed. Starfield would then make it a creature and it would be an Artifact Enchantment Creature. If you ever lost enchantments and went below 5 then Metamorph would become just the Artifact Enchantment and lose it's creature status.

Gideon. He would become Gideon as the card is printed. He would however, have no loyalty counters. He'd die immediately unless you had something that gives Planeswalkers Loyalty Counters when they ETB.


Ruling in the Gatherer Page - Except for also being an artifact, Phyrexian Metamorph copies exactly what was printed on the original permanent and nothing more (unless that creature is itself copying something or is a token; see below). It doesn’t copy whether that permanent is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras attached to it, or any noncopy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, and so on.


You are correct in the Starfield example, Phyrexian Metamorph will copy the animated enchantment and if Starfield leaves or the condition is no longer met, it will become just an artifact enchantment.

In the planeswalker example, it's a different story. With Gideon animated as a creature, he is a "Planeswalker Creature - Gideon Human Soldier". If Phyrexian Metamorph is played and Gideon is selected, it will enter the battlefield as a copy of Gideon. A non-animated planeswalker. It will have loyalty counters placed on him, just like any planeswalker has when it enters the battlefield. Before you can do anything else, state-based effects are checked, and because only one planeswalker with the name Gideon can be under your control, you will have to choose which of them you wish to move to the graveyard. See this link for more info.

[edit] This assumes everything above is under your control. If your opponent has a planeswalker which has somehow been animated as a creature, you could clone that and both planeswalkers will remain on the battlefield as they are controlled by different players.

_________________
Democracy is a pathetic belief in the collective wisdom of individual ignorance.

The NSA is the only branch of government that actually listens to people.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 6:43 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 781
Quick follow up question, if Phyrexian Metamorph is copying Bitterblossom in the Starfield of Nyx scenario, will it generate 1 token a turn and lose me one life even after Starfield is put into the graveyard? I assume so since why not, but just making sure.

Also, can I play Walking Ballista for 0 and then sacrifice it to Arcbound Ravager before it dies? I'm guessing no: the check for toughness = 0 is a state-based action, so Ballista dies before either player gains priority, which is required to use Arcbound Ravager.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 11:33 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 02, 2013
Posts: 3878
Location: 1,824.5 meters underground.
Preferred Pronoun Set: Mr.
Well a problem exists in wanting to copy Bitterblossom with PM for one thing so my answer is the question is moot.
Walking for 0 would fail to enter the battlefield.

_________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open one's mouth and remove all doubt. - Mark Twain

New Arena Content Now! Streaming coming soon!
https://www.youtube.com/user/thedevilwuster
My band Shakey Deal YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBpPU1fbAjSPTfu3g0vubLw
Shakey Deal Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/ShakeyDeal.Neil.Young.tribute/
Shakey Deal Audio Page
https://www.facebook.com/ShakeyDealAudio1/


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 8:38 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 03, 2013
Posts: 2590
Well a problem exists in wanting to copy Bitterblossom with PM for one thing so my answer is the question is moot.
Walking for 0 would fail to enter the battlefield.

Starfield of Nyx solves your problem, Mr.

Ballista definitely enters the battlefield.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 6:28 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 02, 2013
Posts: 3878
Location: 1,824.5 meters underground.
Preferred Pronoun Set: Mr.
sixty4half wrote:
Well a problem exists in wanting to copy Bitterblossom with PM for one thing so my answer is the question is moot.
Walking for 0 would fail to enter the battlefield.

Starfield of Nyx solves your problem, Mr.

Ballista definitely enters the battlefield.

Hmmmm
How does it enter the battlefield with 0 toughness? I thought it would just fizzle. I'm guessing if not it enters and then immediately dies.
Edit: Ok, I was not familiar with Starfield at all. Bad Dev.

_________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open one's mouth and remove all doubt. - Mark Twain

New Arena Content Now! Streaming coming soon!
https://www.youtube.com/user/thedevilwuster
My band Shakey Deal YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBpPU1fbAjSPTfu3g0vubLw
Shakey Deal Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/ShakeyDeal.Neil.Young.tribute/
Shakey Deal Audio Page
https://www.facebook.com/ShakeyDealAudio1/


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 6:50 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr 30, 2015
Posts: 1477
sixty4half wrote:
Well a problem exists in wanting to copy Bitterblossom with PM for one thing so my answer is the question is moot.
Walking for 0 would fail to enter the battlefield.

Starfield of Nyx solves your problem, Mr.

Ballista definitely enters the battlefield.

Hmmmm
How does it enter the battlefield with 0 toughness? I thought it would just fizzle. I'm guessing if not it enters and then immediately dies.
Edit: Ok, I was not familiar with Starfield at all. Bad Dev.

Yeah pretty much that, it enters the battlefield, and before you get a chance to do anything it'll die instantly, but it does come up with stuff like Gate to the afterlife

_________________
Future Actual winner of Steam Showdown 5.
I have a Magic Youtube channel, check it out here!
https://www.youtube.com/c/Nighthawk233


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 12:09 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 781
I attack with Hazoret the Fervent and my opponent blocks with Torrential Gearhulk. After combat I cast Humility. Do both Hazoret & Gearhulk die (as 1/1's that have taken 5 damage)? Gatherer doesn't say anything about damage wearing off when a creature is transformed, so I assume yes?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 6:41 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov 10, 2013
Posts: 9732
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Gearhulk does, Hazoret lives on! He can’t be killed by combat damage, the other guy can.

_________________
DCG-MTG wrote:
There's a limited amount of fun to be had in a single game, and this deck will ensure no one has any of it.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 8:23 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb 29, 2016
Posts: 2672
Location: Portugal
Gearhulk does, Hazoret lives on! He can’t be killed by combat damage, the other guy can.


They both die, because humility also removes all abilities irc.

_________________
Give me land, Give me fire, Give me that which I desire! :mage:
My Duels Youtube Channel


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 3:23 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov 10, 2013
Posts: 9732
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Oh i thought abilities were only triggered or activated. I thought « indestructible «  was a keyword and not an ability. I didn’t realize everything was an ability

_________________
DCG-MTG wrote:
There's a limited amount of fun to be had in a single game, and this deck will ensure no one has any of it.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 7:29 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb 29, 2016
Posts: 2672
Location: Portugal
Oh i thought abilities were only triggered or activated. I thought « indestructible «  was a keyword and not an ability. I didn’t realize everything was an ability


Not sure when they started using the term "keyword" but when I used to play paper Magic, it was always called abilities as the card text on humility says.
I guess abilities includes both keywords and other kinds of activated or triggered effects. Should just say: creatures become vanilla 1/1s. No confusion there.
Could be a new keyword: vanillaize.

_________________
Give me land, Give me fire, Give me that which I desire! :mage:
My Duels Youtube Channel


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 387 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group